Amazon Defends It’s Right To Use The Word ‘Cunt’ In A Product Image



cunt2

Guardian – Amazon has sparked outrage by defending the use of the word “cunt” in a product image used by a retailer on its website, arguing that it was featured in a “light-hearted” way that was not likely to offend any particular group, such as women.

The Advertising Standards Authority banned an internet ad which appeared on Amazon.co.uk for a Christmas card which featured the text: “You’re a cunt. Sorry, I meant to say ‘Merry Christmas’.”

In its ruling the ASA said it was banning the ad under harm and offence rules in the advertising code, on the grounds that it was likely to cause serious or widespread offence.

In a submission to the ASA Amazon said that it should not have been banned because “the card was not offensive, aggressive or lewd in its message. It was meant as a bit of light-hearted, irreverent fun”. Amazon said that the wording of the card “did not target any particular group, nor was it likely to cause offence to any particular race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability or age”.

 

Sounds like the ASA are a bunch of cunts.  If you’re offended by the word cunt then you’re probably a cunt, too.  I never understood why this word takes so much heat.  I feel like its unjustly criticized.  Who sat around and one day decided that the word cunt had to be banned from the English language because it had the power to shock?  Its not racist towards anyone.  It doesn’t create hate towards anyone.  Its a term that means female genitalia.  Its like saying dick or penis.  But yet no one goes ape shit when you call them a dick or a penis. Yet they’ll freak the fuck out if you call them a cunt. Especially chicks.  Chicks hate, hate, hate the c-word.  I’ve yet to call a chick a cunt- mostly because I fear for my life, but I use it around chicks enough to know that they become enraged like I’m Hitler and their family’s Jewish.  That’s just how I act though.  I drop something or fuck something up and I mumble ‘cunt.’  Or I yell ‘cunt.’  Most of you will say ‘shit,’ or ‘damn,’ or ‘god damn,’ but not me.  I go straight for the general public kill.  I’m trying to make a statement here.  Cunt needs to be an acceptable word just like any other swear word that you can think of.  Don’t outcast it.  Don’t hate it.  There’s enough hate in this world.  Let’s all just love everything, and everyone.

Comment

