Golfer Mark Mihal Had The Worst Kind Of Hole In One


   

Huff Post – When it comes to dealing with this divot, score one for golfer Mark Mihal. The St. Louis Post-Dispatch reports that the mortgage broker from Creve Coeur, Mo., is recovering after a sinkhole opened up beneath him Friday on the fairway at the 14th hole of a southwestern Illinois golf course. The pit that swallowed him was 18 feet deep and 10 feet wide.

The 43-year-old Mihal was hoisted to safety with a rope. The encounter at Annbriar Golf Course near Waterloo just southeast of St. Louis left him with a dislocated shoulder. Although Mihal says he still considers the course one of his favorites, he’s having second thoughts about returning there, saying “it’d be kind of strange playing that hole again, for sure.”

 

I’m going to be completely honest and say that this has to be one of the shittiest ways to die.  I know this man was saved, but the man in Florida wasn’t so lucky.  Picture walking and just having the ground let go underneath you. Now you’re free-falling for however many feet the sinkhole is deep.  Luckily, in this case it was only 18-feet, but still that’s no short drop.  Your life must flash a dozen times before you hit bottom.  I bet it felt like a 20-minute fall. I love golf, but I’m almost positive there is no way I could finish the round, nor would I be able to golf there ever again.  I’m pretty good with staying away from near death experiences.  I don’t ski, surf, sky dive, hunt or go near carnivorous animals.  My whole goal in life is to live as long as possible an enjoy it.  Seems to be working out quite well for me.  Now that I know that sinkholes can just happen anywhere, I’m afraid to leave my house.  Although in the case of Jeff Bush, even that won’t protect me.  Kind of sad when a grown man can’t even have a relaxing sleep in his own bed, in his own home without Mother Nature swallowing him whole.  But now we can’t even enjoy the game of golf either.  This fictional broad is a man hater just like all the non-fictional kinds.

Comment

