Rest In Peace, Paul Bearer (William Moody) 1954-2013


WWE.com – WWE is saddened to learn of the passing of William Moody, aka Paul Bearer. Moody made his WWE debut in 1991 as the manager of The Undertaker and went on to become a memorable part of WWE over the course of the next 20 years.

Our deepest condolences go out to Moody’s family, friends and fans.

 

Paul Bearer was weird as hell.  With his help, The Undertaker and Kane brought many a scary memories to my childhood.  Something about a grown man who was pale as can be, walking around with an all powerful urn just didn’t say sunshine and rainbows.  William Moody owned his role as Paul Bearer.  He was an excellent manager and was the reason wrestlers like Taker, Kane and Mankind went on to have successful Hall of Fame careers.  Plus, he ate a fireball to the face.  Most manly thing a guy can do.

One thought on “Rest In Peace, Paul Bearer (William Moody) 1954-2013

  1. So sad to read that Paul Bearer died. As a teenager, he (and NWA, WCW, GLOW, AWA,etc.) got me through some rough nights. I had leukemia as a teen, and wrestling (especially when I was in the hospital – which was a lot) really helped me get my mind off of the seriousness of my situation. I remember the debut of The Undertaker because on NWA, Mean Mark was my favorite wrestler (look it up, kids!) When Undertaker & Paul Bearer came out, I was jumping up & down on my bed yelling, “that’s Mean Mark! That’s Mean Mark!” The nurses ran into my room to see what was wrong & I was told to be quiet & calm down. There were kids trying to sleep. I couldn’t calm down ! I was so excited. Besides, I said, “what can they do, put me in hospital jail?”

Comment

