“You’re Not Invited” Wedding Alerts Are The New Hot Thing


complaint.480

MSN News – “You’re not invited” alerts are the latest trend for those brides and grooms who feel a need to confirm non-attendance. With some couples looking for more budget-friendly receptions (i.e., smaller guest lists) and social media serving as wedding announcements on steroids, some feel a need to let non-essential pals know they’ll be sitting this one out.

“Nine out of 10 times, it’s because of lack of space – and the couple feels super guilty,” Tatiana Byron, founder of event planning service The Wedding Salon, told TODAY.com. “These are usually people they’re friendly with, but not close to.”

Tatiana’s clients have done everything from personally e-mailing and sending cards to acquaintances to having their wedding planner do the dirty work for them – call and apologize on the couple’s behalf. The response? An unsurprising mix of disappointment and anger.

“Some of their friends complain and criticize the couple, thinking the planner won’t tell the client,” explained Byron. As for those who deliver the bad news personally, it usually becomes a game of throwing the significant other under the bus. “The groom blames the bride, and the bride blames the groom.”

 

Now this is a wedding tradition I can get into.  Fuck all that noise about creating a wedding guest lists and planning the bachelor/bachelorette parties and reception.  I want nothing to do with the dinner, music choice, flowers, or even the location.  I want to create the list of “You’re Not Invited.”  That’s my job- ruining people’s lives and destroying their feelings.

Weddings suck anyways.  I don’t know anyone who actually wants to go.  I usually just go because I have to.  Like when its family or a close friend.  Or because I look forward to dressing up and showing off my style.  Yes, I’m that conceded.  If I received an alert saying I didn’t have to go, I wouldn’t be heart broken.  Depending on the time of the year I’d probably just go play golf, or I’d sit on my ass watching sports.  My all-time favorite past time.  You can have you “day”.  Let me have mine in peace and quiet.  Go spend thousands of dollars to tell each other you love one another and that’ll you be together forever.  Or until one of you finds someone else better and cheats.  That’s the story of all weddings.

Comment

