49ers Cornerback Chris Culliver Doesn’t Do Gays


0130-chris-culliver-49rs-gay-article-getty-3

Huff Post – A player for the Super Bowl-bound San Francisco 49ers gave a controversial, anti-gay interview just days ahead of the NFL’s championship game.

Speaking with shock jock Artie Lange, cornerback Chris Culliver said he’s not OK with gay players in the NFL or on his team. “I don’t do the gay guys man,” Culliver said, according to Yahoo. “I don’t do that. No, we don’t got no gay people on the team, they gotta get up out of here if they do.”

Culliver went on to say that gays would not be welcomed in the locker room, but if they remained closeted, he might be all right with them playing. “Yeah, come out 10 years later,” he said.

Glad society has come a long way.  Not sure how being gay would affect an athletes ability.  Would Chris still say this if Kaepernick announced he were gay, or Vernon Davis, or Patrick Willis?  Would he still not want them on the 49ers team?  If Im an athlete, my teammates sexuality is the last thing Im thinking of.  Pretty sure the dude isnt going to hit on me if he knows Im straight.  Gays dont go around trying to turn straight men gay.  They dont go around hitting on every guy they see.  Culliver makes it seem likes its a disease.  “Hell no I dont want no guy with the gay on my team! We dont do that.”  Cant wait until he has to issue an apology tomorrow.

And you know Brendon Ayanbadejo is going to have a field day with this.  Brendon is well known for his fight for gay rights.  Sunday will be the fight of all fights… (Bruce Buffer voice)  “In the purple corner you have Brendon Ayanbadejo of the Ravens fighting for gay rights, and in the red corner you have Chris Culliver of the 49ers saying no to the gays. Let’s get it on, but dont worry, Chris, not in the gay way.”  Guess we’ll figure out the winner this Sunday.  Super Bowl XLVII: The Fight For Gay Rights.

You can listen to the interview here.

 

UPDATE: Here’s Chris Culliver’s issued apology that I was waiting for. I love the “they were a reflection of thoughts in my head, but not how I feel.” Uh, what? Looks like Im going to have to try that one out with girlfriends. “Im sorry, dear, I didnt mean to hurt your feelings. It was a reflection of thoughts in my head, but not how I truly feel. Forgive me?”

Cheis Culliver’s issued apology:

“The derogatory comments I made yesterday were a reflection of thoughts in my head, but they are not how I feel,” Culliver said in a statement. “It has taken me seeing them in print to realize that they are hurtful and ugly. Those discriminating feelings are truly not in my heart. Further, I apologize to those who I have hurt and offended, and I pledge to learn and grow from this experience.”

One thought on “49ers Cornerback Chris Culliver Doesn’t Do Gays

  1. Pingback: NFL Combine Scouts Want To Know, ‘Do You Like Girls?’ | Water Cooler Talk

Comment

