Tim Tebow Trademarks “Tebowing”


Yahoo – Well, this is a new one — the first time we’re aware that a player in any sport has looked to slap a trademark on an on-field celebration. New York Jets quarterback/running back/marquee punt protector Tim Tebow might insist that his bow-down gesture, commonly known as “Tebowing,” is more meaningful (and profitable) than a spike or sack dance, and he’s set some legal effect behind that notion. Tebow has trademarked Tebowing. “I knew that this stuff that had been talked about, but I didn’t know everything had gone through,” he said on Friday. “I knew it was something that was cool for me in the past; but it’s not something I do as Tebowing. It’s something I do that’s prayer for me and it got hyped as Tebowing. I think one, more to control how it’s used as well. Make sure it’s used in the right way.”

 

I guess if you can’t get in the game, therefore making it difficult to earn another contract, you gotta make money somehow. Its either that or he’s pissed at all the defensive players who keep tackling him or intercepting him and then “Tebowing” in their celebration. Ah fuck, I hope I don’t owe him money for that. Hopefully his marketing arm is as accurate as his throwing arm.

Comment

