CHAMPS


 

The Sports Reporter is still in shock. Mentally and physically. My body is hurting. Partied until the sun came up Saturday night. Rocking Giants gear, throwing back blue and red jello shots, and going through pints of whiskey like it was water. It was great. Woke up Sunday at 2pm. Jumped up out of bed, grabbed a bagel and a coffee and housed Sunday like it was my job. Just told that bitch, “its Super Bowl Sunday. I got shit to do.” Once 830-9pm came around, I was hurting. Just laid up on the couch watching the game with no emotion. That was until Manningham caught an absolute dime from ELIte Manning. I don’t think I have moved so fast in my life. Just leaped up off the couch, started yelling and doing a little salsa dance. For the rest of the game I was all emotion. Cheering and screaming like a maniac. Had everyone at the Super Bowl party shocked. But today, today I’ve been dead. Woke up at 830 and had a blueberry muffin with milk. Then went back to bed. Woke up again at around 230pm. My body is still shot. All that alcohol and all the emotion was too much for me to handle. It still hasn’t completely sank in. The Giants are Super Bowl Champs. Damn. I remember back in ’07, I was on top of the world. Nobody could say anything to bring me down. It was the greatest thing ever. Easily the happiest moment I’ve had in my life. Hands down. No vacation, birthday, holiday has ever been better. But this championship? This one doesn’t feel the same. Its like having a child I suppose. The first one is incredible. You don’t know what happens, or what emotion to feel because you’ve never gone through it. Come the second, third and fourth- if you’re that nuts- you know what to expect. You know what to do and what not to do. The hype isn’t quite there. And that’s me now. It just doesn’t feel the same. But don’t get me wrong. I’ll be quick to shut up a Pats fan for the rest of my life. There’s not much they can say to me. Big Blue single handedly destroyed your dynasty. The Beli-douche/Brady regime is no more. New York did it in ’07 and then they came right back and did it again last night. They have been decapitated. Say what you want about Brady hurting his non-throwing shoulder, Gronk being hurt, or Welker dropping a pass- New England got out played. New York went through the #1 and #2 seed in the NFC and went through the #1 seed in the AFC. Did absolute work in the playoffs. Shut down powerhouse QBs in Rodgers and Brady, and took it to the second best defense in the NFL in San Fran. This performance was better than ’07. The competition was better. And the best part? There’s about 5 starters on defense who ended the season on the IR, some like Terrell Thomas, who never got to play. The coming years are going to be just as good. New York’s core players are young and filled with talent. Just look at the QB, WR’s and defensive line. In one night they shut down a dynasty and started one of their own. Two Super Bowls in 5 years. Ain’t too shabby. Ain’t too shabby indeed.

Comment

